To the Man Who Assaulted Me and Walked Away with Nothing

I’ve been on this highway. I can picture her running route. Matagalpa always felt like an escape while I was a Peace Corps Volunteer living in a smaller town outside of the city. I would go to Matagalpa for a sense of normalcy.

My reaction to reading Char’s post about getting assaulted while running in Matagalpa was physical – my muscles clenched and my stomach tightened, my breathing paused. It brought back the rage I used to feel at getting catcalled – “piropod.” It brought back the memory of a stupid, stupid man knocking at my door in the middle of the night after he had stolen my wallet from my house earlier that day. I wasn’t assaulted, but my feeling of safety was.

I know so many women that went through what Char described here during their Peace Corps service and many still suffer from past traumas. Read this to understand. Char – thank you for sharing.

-Lauren

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

