a loss, a gain

Today someone stole my phone.  It happened somewhere in between getting off the bus, into a taxi, and back out of the taxi.  It was in my pocket, and then it was gone.  I know it was stolen because when we called the number, someone had switched the phone off.

Today someone gave me a phone. I went into the phone store to buy a replacement, and the owner and I chatted for a bit.  He told me that he had lived in the States for 18 years.  I told him that I’ve been in Nicaragua for a year working as a Peace Corps Volunteer.  When it came up that someone had stolen my phone today, he told his employee to give me the phone for free.

Humbled, gracious, and taken aback, I thanked him profusely.  He owed me nothing, had nothing to do with the aforementioned robbery, yet insisted on giving me this gift.  The unassuming generosity of one stranger to another, this gesture of friendship, this act of pure kindness, still has me looking at this phone wondering if it is real.  How it is possible.

I don’t know how to express my gratitude, but I will try: thank you, thank you, thank you.

This entry was posted in Peace Corps, Volunteer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a loss, a gain

  1. Mom says:

    pay it forward…love you

    Like

Leave a Reply

