A Life, Changed.

Or a culinary life, rather.

Campo ovens.  I had heard the term thrown around amongst volunteers.  It seemed to be some mythical structure that involved a brick and something about a pot.  I envisioned an oven made out of adobe built into my backyard.  It all sounded very far-fetched and time-consuming.  Plus, I like cooking on my gas stove.  The whole cooking-with-fire concept still alludes me.

But when I went to another volunteer’s site, and she took out her campo oven, my mind blew up.  It’s so simple!  Suddenly baked chicken with a little olive oil drizzled on top surrounded by chopped tomatoes and onions, eggplant parmigiana, roasted garlic, baked french fries, pizza, banana bread, and cookies–all foods that I hold nearest and dearest to my heart–were within my reach!

Last night I tried my campo oven for the first time.  I baked a potato.  Here’s what you do:

First, you take a pot:

Then, you put a brick in the pot.

Lastly, place whatever you want to bake on top of the brick in the pot.  The brick redistributes the heat so the pot acts as an oven.

Here you can see my baked potato mid-bake.  It’s balancing precariously on the glass top of yet another pot (you must be resourceful in the Peace Corps).

30 minutes later, steaming, delicious, mouth-watering, baked potato goodness:

And 31 minutes later, a baked potato in bed, at long last:

And lastly, this has nothing to do with ovens or baked-potatoes, but as this is a happy story, and all happy stories should end with a beautiful sunset, here is a photo of a sunset that I took from my street last night:

So there you have it.  Just another classic girl-meets-oven story. If you happen to come visit me, we can eat baked potatoes in the sunset and live happily ever after.  The end.

This entry was posted in Peace Corps, Volunteer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Life, Changed.

  1. Mom says:

    I love happily ever after stories…thanks for making me smile!

    Like

Leave a Reply

