¿En que trabajo?

The first questions you are asked when you meet a stranger are (in order): Are you single? Do you have kids?  How old are you?  Do you believe in God? And finally, if the conversation lasts long enough, the all important what is your name (and can I get your number)? and what are you doing here in La Dalia, anyways?

So glad you asked!

I’ve been here for a little over a month and work is finally beginning to pick up.  I’ve been going on a number of salidas to surrounding communities to participate in health fairs and brigadista trainings. Last week I gave a charla to brigadistas on the importance of promoting Plan de Parto (Birth Plan) to pregnant ladies in their communities.  I also went to a health fair where I gave charlas on Plan de Parto, high risk pregnancies, and methods of contraception.  Today I went on the radio for the first time and spoke to the entire Tuma-Dalia Municipality about the importance of family planning.

Here is a MINSA doctor discussing contraceptive methods and distributing the pill to women of Quilili at a health fair in April:

I sat in the back of this pickup truck for much of the afternoon helping to distribute meds with this doctor.

This is my charla on Plan de Parto.  I’m giving it two more times this week to Brigadistas in various communities.

Traveling to health fairs is always an adventure in and of itself.  Here are some doctors and MINSA workers that got real comfortable in the back of the pickup truck after our health fair in El Hular.

May is the Month of Mothers in Nicaragua, so MINSA and SILAIS have been busy promoting maternal health throughout Nicaragua.  My hospital is doubling the amount of time spent in the community this month, so I have health fairs on both Wednesdays and Saturdays.

Other projects that will begin in the near (or distant) future include: a garden project in the Casa Materna, which I will work on with my sitemate, Alison; swim lessons in the river, also with Alison; and a Billiards Tournament for the men in La Dalia where we’ll talk about Sexual and Reproductive Health, which will be spearheaded by my sitemate Sam.

With any luck, it just might be a busy rainy season.

This entry was posted in Peace Corps, Volunteer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ¿En que trabajo?

  1. Natalie says:

    Lorena, you’re great. Wonderful post. So glad things are picking up for you!

    Like

  2. Jeryl Baker says:

    Lauren,
    You never cease to amaze me. You should feel so proud of yourself for exploring the world and helping the neediest. I love reading your blog, it’s like my very own tv show like the one they have of the doctors on a remote island. I wish you the best and thanks for sharing and making your parents so proud (even though they are petrified).
    Jeryl

    Like

Leave a Reply

