My New Home is…LA DALIA, MATAGALPA!

If you’re thinking to yourself, “wow, that name sure sounds familiar,” then I applaud you on your astute observational skills.  I went to La Dalia about two weeks ago during Practicum week to work in the Casa Materna, and tomorrow, I will venture back for a few days for my site visit.

So where is La Dalia, Matagalpa?  Below is the department of Matagalpa in relation to the rest of Nicaragua:

La Dalia is located in Northern Matagalpa, sandwiched between two purple Municipalities on this map:

There’s somewhere between 7-9,000 people living in the urban center, with more than 60,000 people living in almost 200 surrounding communities.  I will be working with MINSA in the brand new hospital, as well devoting time to the Casa Materna.  I also hope to do a lot of outreach to the surrounding communities with Brigadistas and MINSA staff.

I’ll let you know how it all goes!

This entry was posted in Peace Corps, Trainee. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Home is…LA DALIA, MATAGALPA!

  1. The Strix says:

    Hey Lauren, I’m part of the Snapshot project. Journal #3 is inbound towards me here in Ecuador at this very moment. I’ll be sending it to you next. I’ll probably be e-mailing you, but I just wanted to say hi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

