Enemies

I know that the Peace Corps is all about friendship and integration, but while in training, I have already established three sworn enemies: DOGS (specifically while running), MOSQUITOS, and ROOSTERS.

1) DOGS (specifically while running)

It all started one morning a couple weeks ago when I decided to go for a run around my town.  The run was going really well and I was feeling good.  Thinking nothing of the two perros barking at me from behind their wire fence, I continued past them.  Well, (duh, Lauren), wire isnt a solid barrier and they lept straight through and surrounded me.  Yikes.  I stopped running and starting thinking strategy: I could try to reason with them (please guys, cant you see that Im not a threat?) or I could submit to my defeat and assume fetal position on the ground.  Luckily, I did not have to resort to either of these options because the owner was around to call them off (finally…geeze).  A little shaken, I called it quits for my run and headed home.

DOGS1; LAUREN 0

The next morning, Ashley and I began running our usual route, but up ahead we saw a big dog guarding the middle of the road.  He seemed a little tense, and as a car drove by him, we saw the beast lunge at it at full force.  Ashley and I were forced to end our run early and turn back, lest we be eaten by a giant dog.

DOGS 2; LAUREN (and Ashley) 0

Later that week, I ran with a stick for protection.  Try to mess with me now, Giant-Dog-in-the-Middle-of-the-Road.  You may weigh as much as me and have many sharp teeth, but I have a peice of wood in my hand.  YEAH.  We were able to finish the run but had to stop to walk by the dogs as to not freak them out.  Lets call this one a draw.

2) MOSQUITOS

Last night a mosquito found its way into my bed net and I knew it was there.  I tried my best to get it, but I couldnt manage to do away with it before I fell asleep.  I woke up with two huge bites on my elbow.

MOSQUITO 2; LAUREN 0

Well, this morning it made the fatal mistake of flying by me in the daylight.  Rest in Peace, my little friend.

MOSQUITO 2; LAUREN 10 (I think 10 points for killing it is fair.)

3) ROOSTERS

Roosters “sing” during the night.  I have never heard a bigger euphamism in my life.  If roosters sing, then I am Arethra Franklin.  Instead of singing, roasters scream at the top of their lungs every five second from 10:00 PM to 8:00 AM, which is not unlike a child trying to get attention from their parents.  Or maybe it would be more accurately described as not unlike Clara playing the “how loud and high pitched can I make my voice in this hotel room” game.  But unlike mere humans, roosters never get laryngitis.  It seems that roosters screem the loudest around 4:30 AM, because they have successfully woken me up at that hour more times than I have successfully slept through the night.  And besides, they look really dumb.

So I think roosters are winning at the moment, but we´ll see who´s “singing” when the one near my window winds up on my neighbors dinner plate.

So those are my enemies here in Nicaragua.  I expect that they will make their way into this blog throughout my service.  I may have lost a few battles, but I will win the war.

This entry was posted in Trainee. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enemies

  1. Dana says:

    Lauren! I was just laughing out loud reading about your war with the mosquito and you definitely deserve more than 10 points!! But the dog story is really scary . . .be careful!

    Hope you are having an amazing time and miss you a ton!!!

    Like

  2. Ariel says:

    “Instead of singing, roasters scream at the top of their lungs every five second from 10:00 PM to 8:00 AM.”

    Tell me about it!! The one that lived outside my window in Santo Antonio de Jesus would, every night without fail, wait until the moment my head touched my pillow to start wailing. Again, every 5 seconds until the AM. Where’s Simon Cowell when you need him!?

    Love you, sis!

    Like

Leave a Reply

