Puzzle Pieces

In the time since I received my first e-mail from Placement, my life has begun falling into place.  I am the newest staff assistant at a medical school in Boston.  I am volunteering at an HIV/AIDS organization that conducts sexual health outreach to MSM in Boston.  I walked the Boston Marathon for the Jimmy Fund Walk and raised $600 for the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. I caught up with old friends and made some new friends as well.

While the pieces are finally beginning to fit together, I feel like I’m living a very dichotomous existence at the moment.  On one hand, I am building the foundation for a satisfying life in Boston–a life that I can see myself living for a long time.  Yet at the same time, I am mentally preparing to leave this new life in a few months for someplace unknown.  As Mike Posner so eloquently puts it, “I’ve got one foot out the door…”

And I am both thrilled and terrified about it.

I find myself wishing for time to speed up and slow down.  But regardless of what I want, time will just do its thing.  It’ll happen when it happens.  I’ll leave when I leave.

I just hope I can go into this with a clear head, and realize that two years of my life doing something awesome really isn’t a long time at all.

Plus, I hope that next time a 202 area code appears on my phone, I will remember that I went to school in Maryland, and the caller is more likely a friend than the Peace Corps. That way, I will not freak the cashier out who is so kindly ringing up my sandwich order.

Till next time,

Lauren

This entry was posted in Nominee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Puzzle Pieces

  1. Liz says:

    I just wanted to tell you how much I love this post, especially the parts about time doing its own thing and two years not being that long. That’s it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

